Skip to main content

Course Reserves: Home

See What's On Reserve

About Course Reserves

The goal of the course reserves collection is to:

  • increase free access to course materials
  • reduce barriers to student success
  • assure compliance with US Copyright Law

 

The library reserves the right to make changes to these policies and procedures at any time.

Policies for Instructor Owned Materials

Instructor Owned Items:

  • Title is for a class that is active in the current semester.
  • Title is current edition
  • Titles should be brought to the library and have accompanying paperwork (available at the circulation desk).
  • Titles will be returned to instructors at the end of the semester if:
    • The title is not attached to a class for the upcoming semester, or
    • The title was not checked out during the current semester
    • If a faculty-owned title was removed, the  title may be brought back and placed on reserve so long as it is for an active class

Note: If an instructor-owned item is placed back on reserve but not been checked out for four consecutive semesters, the title will no longer be eligible for the reserve collection.  Contact a librarian at your teaching location with questions.

Policies for Library Owned Materials

  • Titles from the library collection may be placed on reserve.
  • Requests for library owned titles to be added to the reserve should be submitted with accompanying paperwork (available at the circulation desk)
  • Library-owned titles will be returned to the main collection if:
    • The title is not attached to a class for the upcoming semester, or
    • The title was not checked out during the current semester.
  • If a library-owned item was removed from the reserve collection, the item may be placed back on reserve so long as it is for an active class.

Note: If a library-owned item is placed back on reserve but not been checked out for four consecutive semesters, the item will no longer be eligible for the reserve collection.  Contact a librarian at your teaching location with questions.

Purchasing Items for the Reserve Collection

The library often purchases additional course materials specifically to be placed into the reserve collection.  We may reach out to you for assistance if a student expresses a need for a textbook in order to find the most expedient route to assist them.  We encourage you to take a moment at the start of each semester to ensure your students have access to required materials.


Facebook Twitter Instagram Email Us





Reference Desk: 847.543.2071
Circulation Desk: 847.543.2619