Start Your Research
More Options: Advanced Search | WorldCat (libraries worldwide)
Find Background Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window Encyclopedias and specialized e-book reference sources for business, communications, criminal justice, education, environmental sciences, finance, history, homeland security, literature, political science, psychology, sciences, and sociology. Includes full-text articles in multiple literature encyclopedia series including Drama for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Short Stories for Students
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Find Streaming Audio
- American Music This link opens in a new window American Song is an eclectic collection of streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from Americas past and present.
- Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Popular Music Library This link opens in a new window Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
- Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a streaming music resource of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides users with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records
Find Articles and Other Documents
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database with 10,000+ full-text journal. Includes a combination of academic journals (scholarly/peer reviewed), magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos. Disciplines range from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. #ebsco
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window Selection of primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
- Black Thought & Culture This link opens in a new window A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Gale OneFile: Informe Academico This link opens in a new window Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- World History in Context This link opens in a new window History collection of reference works, periodical articles, maps, primary documents, video, and audio moving chronologically from antiquity to the present.
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window Analyze the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period.
Find Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online features a single, fully integrated platform, offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles. Virtually every video in the collection is fully transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window Multi-part online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. With Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights.
- Australasian Video Online This link opens in a new window Online streaming database of documentary and educational videos from many of Australasia’s top video publishers
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience
- Caribbean Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Explore the oral and visual history of the culture, society, and identity of the Caribbean people, by the Caribbean people.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media
- Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window This two-volume collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world
- Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window A platform for indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming videos that covers a a wide range of topics including social sciences, arts and humanities, science, technology, archival film and newsreels and more.
- Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region.
Cite Your Sources
Textbooks/Course Reserves
Enter the course number, name, instructor, or item title in the box below.
Your Subject Liaison
Your Subject Liaison
Lindsey LeFeber
Subjects: Accounting, Administrative Management and Technology, Business, Chinese, Communication, Criminal Justice, Economics, English, Ethnic Studies, French, Gender & Sexuality Studies, General, Human Services, Humanities, Japanese, Literature, Sign Language, Social Work, Sociology, Spanish, World Languages